UCC Annual Meeting Minutes - February 26, 2023

Participants in the Annual Meeting were welcomed into the small chapel at Congregation Beth Shalom, where all were seated for the Annual Meeting. An approximate count of participants was 25. Members, Lydia Muar and Thomas Young volunteered to serve as our Recording Secretaries.

Present: Co-President of Leadership and Community Development, Don Simon and Deb Larkin (on hand by phone during the meeting); President of Prosperity, Pat Warren; President of Communications, Grant Dansby; President of Service, Trina Anderson; President of Hospitality, Sam Dererra; Financial Manager, Maria DeRee; and Ministry Team: The Reverends Leddy Hammock, Rob Hammock, Judy Tafelski, Cynthia Mackey, Mary MacKenzie, and Sue Riley.

The meeting is called to order about 12:15 pm by Co-President of Leadership Development, Don Simon, introducing himself and welcoming all to the 2023 Annual Meeting of the not for profit corporation, Unity-Clearwater, Inc., also known as Unity Church of Clearwater; he stated that, although only voting members could participate in this meeting, all would be welcome to attend. He then invited our Sr. Minister, Leddy Hammock, to welcome us with an opening prayer.

Don Simon called upon Grant Dansby, Trina Anderson, and Sam Dererra to read aloud our Church Mission Statement and our Church Vision Statement, in turn, followed by a brief Spiritual Baptism blessing by our Ministry Team.

Don Simon then called upon our Sr. Minister to announce UCC's intention of ordering two especially engraved bricks for our Prayer Walk in honor of retiring Board Members, himself and Deb Larkin, when the time comes to construct our envisioned Prayer Path along the shores of Peace Pond:

DON SIMON 2020-2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS UNITY OF CLEARWATER DEB LARKIN 2020-2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS UNITY OF CLEARWATER

Don Simon entertained a motion to accept the minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting. The motion to accept last year's minutes as read is made by Sam Dererra and seconded by Grant Dansby. The motion carried unanimously. Then Don Simon called upon Pat Warren, our President of Prosperity (Treasurer) to share a summary report of UCC finances during 2022-2023. She asked whether there were any questions about the report; there were none. Pat Warren noted that the Board of Directors is empowered to call for a review of the Church accounts by a Certified Public Accountant as they may deem necessary and welcomed interested and experienced members to volunteer to serve on the Accounting Review Team that assists our Financial Manager. The present A.R.T. Team is comprised of Maria DeRee, Pat Warren, Deb Frisch, and C.P.A. Steven Regier.

Don Simon entertained a motion to accept the financial report for filing for review. The motion was made by Rob Hammock and seconded by Mary MacKenzie to file the financial report for review; the motion carried unanimously.

Don Simon entertained a motion to retain the present Board of Directors and the current Nominating Committee for consistency's sake during this year of transition. Gail Johnson so moved; Jocelyn Dansby seconded the motion, which carried unanimously. (Therefore, reading of the section 5, Article IV of the UCC Bylaws regarding the election of Board members, was waived.)

Don Simon announced that the March meeting of the Board of Directors is scheduled as a Zoom meeting at 6 pm on Thursday, March 23. He further encouraged voting members to express interest in serving on the Board to our Nominating Committee: Pat Warren, Sherri Wallace, and the Chair that these two members would appoint sometime in the autumn of this year.

Don Simon invited our Sr. Minister to share a message of encouragement with the membership. Since there was no further business to complete, Don Simon asked our Sr. Minister to conclude the meeting with a prayer. She led the members in this affirmation: "In our Unity of purpose, we are guided by infinite wisdom, renewed by abundant life and prospered by divine Love and so it is and so we let it be. Peace be with us all. Amen."

Submitted with blessings by

Recording Secretaries: Lydia Muar and Thomas Young