## Minutes, UCC Annual Meeting - February 23, 2020

[The Board was seated on green chairs, facing the front row of the Sanctuary; the wooden lectern with mic stand was centered at base of the stairs. Recording Secretaries (Rob Hammock and Judy Tafelski) had volunteered to compile the meeting minutes for our records. Annual Meeting materials were distributed. An approximate count of voting members was recorded as 52 in attendance.

Present: Co-Presidents of Leadership and Community Development, Deb Frisch and Ed Marinacci; President of Prosperity (Treasurer), Grant Dansby; President of Communications (Secretary), Liz Dima; President of Service, Sylvia Alvarez; Mary Haviland, President of Hospitality; Financial Manager, Maria DeRee; Senior Minister, The Reverend Dr. Leddy Hammock; Ministry Team: The Reverends Judy Tafelski and Rob Hammock, Associate Ministers; Cynthia Mackey, Certified Truth Teacher; Prayer Chaplain, Mary MacKenzie; Life Coach, Magie Cook; Minister Emeritus, The Reverend Randolph Schmelig (and Minister Emeritus, Gwen Cohenour, with us in Spirit).

The meeting was called to order by Co-President of Leadership Development, Deb Frisch, welcoming all; although only voting members may actively participate, all are welcome to attend. She invited Mary Haviland, President of Hospitality, to offer Charles Fillmore's Invocation as an opening prayer. Then Deb Frisch invited our President of Prosperity, Grant Dansby, and our President of Communications, Liz Dima, to read aloud our Church Mission Statement, and our President of Hospitality, Sylvia Alvarez, to read our Church Vision statement, followed by a brief Spiritual Baptism blessing by our Ministry Team, led by our Sr. Minister.

Co-President, Deb Frisch, then called upon our Sr. Minister, who expressed appreciation to our two retiring Board Members, Deb Frisch and Ed Marinacci, and also acknowledging our Minister Emeritus, Gwen Cohenour, as having been moved to Lutz, retired from active service. Engraved bricks have been ordered and will soon be placed in our Prayer Walk, as follows: "DEB FRISCH 2017-20, BOARD OF DIRECTORS, UNITY OF CLEARWATER; ED MARINACCI 2017-20, BOARD OF DIRECTORS, UNITY OF CLEARWATER; MINISTER EMERITUS, REV. GWEN COHENOUR, UNITY OF CLEARWATER."

Co-President, Ed Marinacci, resumed chairing the meeting. The motion was made by Cynthia Mackey to accept the minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting as approved; Sam Derrera seconded the motion and the minutes were unanimously approved by a show of hands.

Ed Marinacci then invited Maria DeRee, our Financial Manager, to summarize the Financial report for last year, as printed, on behalf of our President of Prosperity (Treasurer to the Board), Grant Dansby. Maria DeRee highlighted the financial pages that were handed out to all in attendance and noted that our volunteer Accounting Review Team includes member, Ralph Webbe and Leddy's son, CPA Steven Regier (Chief Financial Officer of the Kearney Medical Center), and our member, Owen Cook, of the Financial Department of Suncoast Hospice. Maria DeRee noted that our church is financially stable and in a positive growth phase. Our Church tithes throughout the year, practicing the prosperity principles. Our loving volunteers serve the Church by assisting staff with cleaning and maintenance, for which we remain truly grateful. Maria DeRee called for volunteers to assist her on the Stewardship Team in preparing the Sunday offertory. She reminded members that our financial records are open to their review and she is accessible to answer questions. Co-President Ed Marinacci noted that the Board is empowered to call for a review by a Certified Public Accountant as warranted. There being no questions on the financial report, Ed Marinacci asked for a motion to accept the Financial Report for filing for review. Jeff Jones so moved; Sue Hammock seconded the motion, unanimously affirmed by a show of hands.

Ed Marinacci noted that our Bylaws call for Section 5, Article IV of the Bylaws, regarding the election of Board members, have been shared for review in our handouts. Then he called upon Maureen Becklund, who was appointed Chair of the current Nominating Committee by the two other committee members: Representative of the Congregation, Sam Derrera, and Deb Frisch (appointed by the Board to represent the congregation). Maureen Becklund announced the names of this year's two new candidates: Deb Larkin and Don Simon. Ed Marinacci asked the two candidates to stand and then stated that no other nominations were received as of three months prior to this meeting, as provided by our Bylaws. Therefore, the motion was made by Diane Podnar, seconded by Carole Zerbarini, and unanimously affirmed by a show of hands to confirm the election of Deb Larkin and Don Simon as new members of the Board of Directors (the new Board Members joined the rest of the Board at the front of the Sanctuary). The next meeting of the Board of Directors is scheduled for Wednesday evening, March 25, at 7:00 pm, in our Conference Room.

Cynthia Mackey nominated Sue Hammock from the floor to serve as the Congregation's Representative to this year's Nominating Committee. Sue accepted the nomination. Judy Tafelski made the motion to close the nominations; Mary MacKenzie seconded the motion, which was affirmed unanimously by a show of hands. The Board's representative to the Nominating Committee will contact the Congregation's Representative later in the year so that the two together can appoint a Chair for the Nominating Committee, which can then select two active voting members who are willing to serve on our Board of Directors.

Ed Marinacci invited our Senior Minister to share a brief message with the congregation. Leddy Hammock shared a brief message of encouragement, thanking all the folks who give so generously of their time and treasure, love and creativity, to maintain our beautiful Church home. She welcomed all interested folks to propose projects and noted an interest in having an outdoor pavilion behind the Peace Cottage in right timing. She added that we go forward this year with "2020 vision," seeing 2020 as our year of plenty. She then made the following motion, in response to the recent initiative of the Unity Worldwide Ministries to advocate a bylaws template that would replace our longstanding form of incorporation: "By way of ratification of the motion unanimously accepted by the Board of Directors of UCC this month, we, the voting membership of UCC, do hereby confirm our shared intention to continue to uphold the autonomy of the corporation, Unity-Clearwater, Inc., also known as Unity Church of Clearwater, as conceived in the original and subsequently revised Articles of Incorporation in 1958, now in place, and as continuously refined according to the Bylaws currently affirmed by the democratic process of the voting membership of our Church home." She called upon Co-President, Ed Marinacci, to invite a second to this motion from The Reverend Randolph Schmelig, our new Minister Emeritus. Member, David Wallace, asked how the proposed template contrasts with our present corporation and expressed strong support for the motion when she explained that our corporate autonomy would become subject to the actions of the Board of the UWM. The Reverend Randy Schmelig seconded the motion, accepted unanimously by a show of hands.

There being no further business for this year's Annual Meeting, Ed Marinacci asked our Sr. Minister to conclude the meeting with a prayer, which she offered as follows; "Beloved Ones, in behalf of our Ministry Team and Board of Directors, I thank you for your loving kindness and faithful service. Let us now go forth in peace, making peace, living gently, loving mightily, ever grateful for the unlimited blessings of the Most High. Peace be with us all. Amen."

Submitted with blessings,

The Reverends Judy Tafelski and Rob Hammock, Acting Recording Secretaries for the Congregation